The Church Mouse that Sang

Mrs. Middlejoy came to me on a walk.  I had been trying to write a murder mystery, mostly because I love reading them.

But the story wasn’t going well.  It was predictable, trite.  I had tried to setting it in my home town, and I could imagine the embarrassment of my high school friends, seeing the mash-up of characters from my high school years, and cringing in pity at my effort.

Walking along, I started thinking about what I had enjoyed reading as a girl.  My thoughts often stray to a book that had transported me to another world, Mistress Masham’s Repose, by T. H. White.

To be continued…

About Susan Call Hutchison

A self-publishing author, editor and blogger. I have years of experience working one-on-one with readers and translators of English, at all levels of competence. My books include the Read-Aloud, Read-Along series and Mrs. Middlejoy's Church Mouse Adventures chapter books. I run an internet business from my home in Idaho and I tutor students learning English as a foreign language. Fostering literacy is my passion. I work to help families read, learn and enjoy creative time together.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

