Those Maybe-I-Ought-To-Break-Down-and-Go-to-Utah Blues

Susan singing to Monmouth Ward in 1973

Back when I was Sue Call

Hard to believe it, but it’s the 40th Anniversary of “Those Maybe-I-Ought-to-Break-Down-and-Go-to-Utah Blues.”  (Which is a cute way of saying I turn 60 next month.)

Also hard to believe, is that no fewer than three of you from my college days who I recently reconnected with, mentioned this song when you accepted my friend request.  (See, I do know how to use the word “fewer,” despite the license taken with “less” in the lyric.)

So by popular demand…well, actually because Dr. Gary Huxford asked…here are the lyrics to that song that takes you back to 1973 in Monmouth, Oregon, to the school then known as Oregon College of Education, and the young Mormon girl who couldn’t find a man.

Those Maybe-I-Ought-to-Break-Down-and-Go-to-Utah Blues

Here in a college town in Oregon
I’m trying to go to school and still have fun.
But if you really want to know the truth,
When I see how I’m spending my youth
I get those Maybe-I-Ought-to-Break-Down-and-Go-to-Utah Blues.

I teach the three-year olds in Sunday School.
I’m trying to keep the faith and still keep cool.
I know an awful lot of nice young men
Under the age of ten.
I get those Maybe-I-Ought-to-Break-Down-and-Go-to-Utah Blues.

“OCE, We Hail Thee.”  I wouldn’t want to roam.
You’ve become my second home.
It’s not as if you’ve failed me,
But I’d sure like to try my smiles
On a few more Saints and less Gentiles.

I spend my lonely Saturday evenings
Preparing for my Sunday meetings.
And that’s all right, only
I’m so terribly lonely.
I get those Maybe-I-Ought-to-Break-Down-and-Go-to-Utah Blues.

The Ladies of Relief Society
Have vowed to find the perfect man for me.
But I’m so tired of brief romances
At annual regional dances.
I get those Maybe-I-Ought-to-Break-Down-and-Go-to-Utah Blues.

“Be Kind to Your Non-member Friends…”
But that doesn’t mean that you should date the men.  So,

I spend my lonely Saturday evenings
Preparing for my Sunday meetings.
And that’s all right, only
I’m so terribly lonely.
I get those Maybe-I-Ought-to-Break-Down-and-Go-to-Utah Blues.

Still, deep down in my heart, I want to stay.
I can’t quite remember the reason,
But I thought of one the other day.
And so I’d like you all to know
I’m not really going to go.
‘Cause I wouldn’t trade the lot of you
For all the men at BYU….

Wash my mouth out with soap.

I’ve got those Maybe-I-Ought-to-Break-Down-and-Go-to-Utah Blues!

oOo

Dr. Huxford, if that’s not enough to help you remember the tune, I guess I’ll have to get a Sound Cloud account….

oOo

Coincidentally, a high percentage of friends I grew up with in Oregon, live in Utah now.

And our California friends who think of Marc and me as Utahans?  Now you know how that happened:  I broke down in 1977, and there was Marc at BYU.

oOo

Note:  This article was originally published in Sue Scribbles on May 6, 2013.  

About Susan Call Hutchison

A self-publishing author, editor and blogger. I have years of experience working one-on-one with readers and translators of English, at all levels of competence. My books include the Read-Aloud, Read-Along series and Mrs. Middlejoy's Church Mouse Adventures chapter books. I run an internet business from my home in Idaho and I tutor students learning English as a foreign language. Fostering literacy is my passion. I work to help families read, learn and enjoy creative time together.
This entry was posted in Mormon Humor, The Writing Process and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to Those Maybe-I-Ought-To-Break-Down-and-Go-to-Utah Blues

  1. Sharon says:

    You must learn how to post a video.

  2. Catherine Huxford says:

    Thanks so much for giving us the words to your famous song. A posted video is a good idea, or you could resort to making an old fashioned audio cassette recording and sending it to us! I know that’s pretty archaic, but so are we!

  3. Susan I love what you do with your writing, you inspire me to keep going, I have nominated you for THE BEST MOMENT AWARD

  4. Sheryl says:

    Great lyrics–and picture. It’s fun to see you sitting on the piano.

  5. gpcox says:

    Very good. Have you tried making a video to post?

Leave a Reply

