Family Get-Togethers

Today it’s hard to concentrate.  I’ll be taking a week off because our daughter is coming all the way from Los Angeles to visit us in Idaho.

If you’ve been to my other site, Read-Aloud, Read-Along with Susan Call Hutchison, you have seen pictures of this daughter.

Read-Aloud, Read-Along Covers

She’s also the child on the cover of three of my books.
 Of course, those photos were taken in the 1980s.  She’s changed a bit, (but not all that much!

Daughter and Father Last Summer

Daughter and Father Last Summer

So today, I am excitedly cleaning out the refridgerator and cupboards, airing out the extra bedding and planning picnics and day trips to parks and places that have meaning for our family.

We’ll be celebrating Fathers Day, (for her father and grandfather) a late birthday for me, and a general celebration of summer.

We plan to visit the ghost town in eastern Idaho where her grandfather’s  grandfather, Chester Vinson Call, homesteaded, along with many of his brothers and siters and their uncle Chester Call in the mid 1800’s.

Family of Anson Vosco Call, including Granpa Chester Vinson Call

Grandpa Chester Vinson Call is standing, second from the right.  The others in the photo are his brothers and sisters, all children of Anson Vosco Call.

Fathers, Grandfathers and Family

I will leave you with a poem I wrote for Fun Time Read-Aloud, Read-Along Rhymes: Poems of Work and Play.
.

I wanted to catch the excitement of cousins meeting for the first time.  I think it will work for Fathers Day, and then will hold up through this week  of family reunion.

Grandpa’s Gift

Your family lives so far away,
We’ve never had a chance to play.
So that’s why Grandpa had us meet
At his house as a special treat.

You must have had a long, long ride.
Come on, I’ll show you what’s outside.
The grownups have a lot to say.
So we can take some time to play.

I’ll race you to the willow tree!
There’s something there you have to see.
Grandpa made a swing for us
With a huge tire from an old school bus!

Grandpa’s garden has a brook
With a little bridge and if you look
Under the arch you’ll find a pair
Of great big goldfish living there.

I don’t think there’s a better place
To watch a fish or swing or race.
It’s almost like our Grandpa knew
That one day here’s where I’d meet you.

I think it’s great that Grandpa had
Two sons who each is now a Dad,
And we are cousins come to stay
For Grandpa’s family holiday!

oOo

Have a wonderful week.  I’ll be looking forward to answering your comments — but maybe not until our daughter is on the airplane home!

oOo

About Susan Call Hutchison

A self-publishing author, editor and blogger. I have years of experience working one-on-one with readers and translators of English, at all levels of competence. My books include the Read-Aloud, Read-Along series and Mrs. Middlejoy's Church Mouse Adventures chapter books. I run an internet business from my home in Idaho and I tutor students learning English as a foreign language. Fostering literacy is my passion. I work to help families read, learn and enjoy creative time together.
This entry was posted in Children's Books, Family History, Poem, Read-Aloud, The Writing Process and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Family Get-Togethers

  1. Enjoy the moments, I adore family time it enriches our souls. I love the b-w photo too. Fill us in when you are free again.

  2. gpcox says:

    Such a close and cheerful family – great to see.

    • Thank you! Had a wonderful week, and now have to get ready for the Fourth of July. Wish there were a way to get my dad to agree to sitting up on the float our church will have in the city parade honoring our veterans. But I guess he’s earned his right to spend Independence Day however he likes.

  3. Flora Poste says:

    Have a wonderful week with your daughter, Susan! With both my sons living in Toronto, I know how precious these times are. You have a wonderful family! “see” you again in a week, with love, Johanna.
    ps what a warm and ‘family cozy’ poem!

    • We did have a wonderful week, traveling to Chesterfield, Soda Springs and Lava Hot Springs, Yellowstone and Grand Teton — not to mention two great drives to Salt Lake City to pick her up from the airport and take her back early Saturday morning. Almost overwhelming thinking about posting the photos!!!

Leave a Reply

