Those Maybe-I-Ought-To-Break-Down-and-Go-to-Utah Blues Again

Those Maybe-I-Ought-To-Break-Down-and-Go-to-Utah Blues Again.

About Susan Call Hutchison

A self-publishing author, editor and blogger. I have years of experience working one-on-one with readers and translators of English, at all levels of competence. My books include the Read-Aloud, Read-Along series and Mrs. Middlejoy's Church Mouse Adventures chapter books. I run an internet business from my home in Idaho and I tutor students learning English as a foreign language. Fostering literacy is my passion. I work to help families read, learn and enjoy creative time together.
This entry was posted in Family History, Mormon Humor and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

11 Responses to Those Maybe-I-Ought-To-Break-Down-and-Go-to-Utah Blues Again

  1. Flora Poste says:

    Dear Susan, saw your performance: you sing (and look) so lovely! I hope, in rela life you do not feel the blues so badly…hugs from Ohio!

    • Thank you, Johanna. I hope it is clear from my smiles, that I do not feel the blues at all. This was written when I was 20 years old, madly looking for the man who would become my husband. Six years later, I found him in Provo, Utah, and we have been married for more than 34 years. Maybe I’ll have to write a sequel about settling down in Idaho!

  2. Flora Poste says:

    Phew…that is a relief;0) Though I had a feeling it was tongue in cheek…yes, yes make that sequel!

  3. Sheryl says:

    I’m glad I read the comments. I agree with Flora Posta, Phew. . . that is a relief! I also assumed it was humorous since the post was tagged Mormon Humor, but I didn’t get it at first.

    • Yes, I thought about leaving this to my personal blog (Sue Scribbles) because it really is an inside joke for people who knew me when I wrote the song 40 years ago. But since I had already posted the story and the promise to make a recording earlier on this website, I thought I’d go ahead and post it for my new friends. It might be too full of Mormon cultural references to make sense to anyone else, though. Should I even try to clarify it?

  4. You sing beautifully, Susan. Thanks for sharing your talents. 🙂

  5. gpcox says:

    It’s been a long time, Susan – everything alright?

Leave a Reply

