I Want to be a Scrooge This Year!

I Hope I am a Scrooge This Year

Alistair Sim as Ebeneezer Scrooge

Alistair Sim as Ebeneezer Scrooge

The Christmas I was eight, I read A Christmas Carol for the first time.

Oh, I had heard of Ebeneezer Scrooge before. Captain Kangaroo had acted out a song about “the man who hated Christmas.” My father had grumbled about holiday duties at school with a “Bah! Humbug!” and my mother had called him an “old Scrooge.”

And when I read the book, he was right there: tight-fisted, unfair to poor Bob Cratchit, and alone and miserable on Christmas Eve.

But then, something wonderful happened.

He was humbled, turned to remembrance of his past blessings and past sins, and saw the error of the path he had taken.

And when he awoke on Christmas morning, to realize he had been snatched from the doom his life deserved, he was full of gratitude, charity, and the joyful sense of rebirth.

Even as an eight year old girl, I realized that Scrooge had gotten a bum rap.

Scrooge was NOT the miser, spoiling everyone’s Christmas fun. He was not the man who hated Christmas. He was the man who “kept Christmas” better than any other.

 Why I want to be a Scrooge

I never fail to re-read this story at Christmastime, and watch several of my favorite versions, including the wonderful 1970 musical Scrooge, and the classic Alistair Sim movie from the 30s, and a particular favorite from my childhood, Mr. Magoo’s Christmas Carol.

And this year, of all the years, I hope I remember my blessings, and how I have been snatched from a rebellious doom, and given a Life I could never deserve.

May I, as Scrooge, live in joy, expressing charity and love in gratitude for the most holy gift of Christ and Christmas.

oOo

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

About Susan Call Hutchison

A self-publishing author, editor and blogger. I have years of experience working one-on-one with readers and translators of English, at all levels of competence. My books include the Read-Aloud, Read-Along series and Mrs. Middlejoy's Church Mouse Adventures chapter books. I run an internet business from my home in Idaho and I tutor students learning English as a foreign language. Fostering literacy is my passion. I work to help families read, learn and enjoy creative time together.
This entry was posted in Christmas and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

11 Responses to I Want to be a Scrooge This Year!

  1. Flora Poste says:

    Dear Susan, so glad to hear from you again! And what a lovely story, with your style of writing it is as if you are telling it to me over a cup of coffee ( hot apple cider in this case;0)) Christmas is also an important celebration for me: of New Life, thankfulness for my own family and gratitude for all the good in the world. It always breaks my heart that people sigh and moan about ‘the busy time’ and ‘what to buy this time’. I want to feel and to spread Joy and your lovely story certainly helps!! Big Hugs from Ohio.

    • Thank you so much, Johanna. I have been in a hospital, at my father’s bedside for a while. I drive a hundred miles round trip each day, when I am not spending the night. But the thought for this post came to my mind yesterday, and I had to take a minute to write it. I MEANT to post it on Suscribbles.wordpress.com. But I was in a hurry and it accidentally ended up here. I love the image of sharing that hot cider with you! If you don’t hear from me sooner, have a Happy Christmas!

  2. itwasjudith says:

    Dear Susan,
    I’m sorry to read about your father’s ill health.
    I just would like to say that I enjoyed your post.
    Wishing you all the best
    Judith

    • Thank you, Judith, for caring. And I’m glad you enjoyed the post! I had such a different Christmas planned, but it is turning into one of the sweetest holiday experiences I have ever known, to spend so much time with my Dad.

  3. elainemansfield says:

    Beautiful, Susan. I’m also sorry about your dad’s health, but love hearing he is in good spirits. Seems you had one of those wonderful life lessons at 8 years old and it has lasted. I feel like Scrooge. It’s two weeks from Christmas, I’m dealing with a mother-in-law who is injured and resists help and (fortunately) a publisher and deadlines. I haven’t thought much about gifts and I have not hung lights in my house as I always do. You have just inspired me. The lights go up tonight, and then the lights will inspire me. Blessings to your family and you.

  4. I am thankful for blessing like online friends such as you. I count my blessings every day not just at christmas. You are one of them friend.

  5. Merry Christmas, Susan. Even though some Christmases may seem far from merry, there is still joy and meaning to be found. God bless.x

Leave a Reply

