Changing Seasons: Goodbye to Summer

Last Day of Summer Walk

Black-eyed Susans line the road in late August
When the summer grass turns from green to gold
And black-eyed Susans line the road
Where the lizard suns on a dusty rock
I will take my last-day-of-summer walk.

When the meadowlark hides in the dry brown weeds
And the hot wind scatters the wildflower seeds
As the grasshopper leaps and I laugh at the shock,
I will take my last-day-of-summer walk.

So join me at the river’s bend.
I’m so glad you’ve been my summer friend.
Together we’ll watch the season end
As we take our last-day-of -summer walk.

oOo

The Snake River at Massacre Rocks State Park, Idaho

This is one of my favorite poems from Year-Round Read-Aloud, Read-Along Rhymes: Celebrating Holidays and Seasons, written remembering my childhood summers in Central Oregon.

Just a few days ago, my husband and I drove out to Massacre Rocks State Park along the Snake River in South East Idaho.  As we walked, we snapped pictures of rocks and lizards and the river, in its late summer cycle.

Lizard sunning on a rock at Massacre Rocks State Park

The grasshoppers jumped, just as I remembered.  Dragonflies, and Monarch butterflies flew among the late wild flowers.  The wind blew  seeds from the opening milkweed pods.  It was a magical day, and I cried as I thanked my husband for being my summer friend.

Monarch Butterfly on Black-eyed Susan

About Susan Call Hutchison

A retired educator, a current homemaker, and a life-long musician, I have written, arranged and performed music and directed choirs for decades. I love learning almost as much as teaching. I took up my dream instrument, violin/fiddle, at the age of 65. My blog and digital sheet music store,"Good Old Tunes," grew out of my search for easy-to-play tunes and well-harmonized duets. In addition to arranging music, I am also a self-publishing author and editor. My books include the "Read-Aloud, Read-Along" series and "Mrs. Middlejoy's Church Mouse Adventures" chapter books.
This entry was posted in Children's Books, Idaho, Poem, Read-Along Books, Read-Aloud and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

26 Responses to Changing Seasons: Goodbye to Summer

  1. Patti Hall says:

    Beautiful photos, Susan! Esp the butterfly. Paul and I loved the Snake River area of Clarkston/Lewiston.

    • Thank you, Patti! The Monarch and the lizard were taken by my husband with his fancy camera. The others I took with my iTouch. I love to imagine the pioneers following the Snake River along the Oregon trail.

  2. itwasjudith says:

    very beautiful post and words, thanks for it 🙂

  3. gpcox says:

    It’s great, Susan. It would be a pleasure to take that last day of summer walk with you.

  4. Flora Poste says:

    Dear Susan, what a lovely post about the change of seasons. And isn’t it wonderful that we cry from time to time because there is so much love in our lives? You are a beautiful person! ♥ Johanna

  5. Susan Stunning poetic words and photo’s ,what a beautiful post, thanks for sharing.

  6. I Am Jasmine Kyle says:

    Your poem is exquisite! I love gentle rhyme! I could almost feel the dry desert air as I looked at your beautiful photos! Have a wonderful day I’ll HAPPILY FOLLOW!

  7. I felt like I was walking along beside you. Thank you Susan for taking me with you, for sharing the beauty (and your tears) on that last day of summer walk. How lovely.

  8. Sheryl says:

    Lovely post! I’ll miss summer as we move into autumn–but Fall has it’s own pace and vibrancy that I also enjoy.

  9. Pingback: It’s Been a While | Sue Scribbles

  10. tinafriesen says:

    I love how you capture that end of summer feeling.

  11. gpcox says:

    I keep checking back here for new posts, what do you think, Susan?

Leave a comment